Society Prizes

The Kihara Prize

The GSJ awards the Kihara Prize to researchers who made a considerable achievement in the field of genetics in honor of Dr. Hitoshi Kihara who contributed on a global scale to the field of genetics and study of revolution with his research centering on wheat.

The GSJ Award for Young Scientists

The GSJ Award for Young Scientists is awarded to GSJ members who are actively conducting exceptional studies in the area of genetics and expected to deliver a great accomplishment in the future.

The GSJ Award for Outstanding Contributions

The GSJ Award for Outstanding Contributions is given to a researcher (a GSJ member, as a principle) who not only made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the science of genetics as well as the GSJ, but also successfully enlightened the general public to propagate the science of genetics, in recognition of and express gratitude for his or her distinguished service.

The Best Paper Award

The Best Paper Award is established in celebration of the 73rd GSJ Annual Meeting (Tokyo) held in 2001 as the first annual meeting of the 21st century, and given to recognize the most outstanding presentations in the Meeting. By praising excellent works, the GSJ aims to encourage challenging research and inspire those who shape the future of the GSJ, in hope of contributing to the advancement of the science of genetics. The study presented by the award winner will be published in the “Genetics in the 21st Century”, the supplementary publication to the Genes & Genetic Systems (GGS). In addition, starting in the 82nd meeting (Sapporo) in 2010, the previous year’s awardee has been asked to give a lecture in a plenary workshop.

The GGS Prize

The GGS Prize is given to one or two most outstanding academic papers published in the “Genes and Genetic Systems (GGS)”, a journal of the GSJ. Award-winning papers are selected in a joint meeting by the GGS editorial committee and editorial advisors from those recommended by committee members and advisors. Papers published in 2004 were considered for the GGS Prize 2005.